All aboard with Chanel’s latest collection

To reveal Chanel’s 2019-2020 Cruise Collection, The Grand Palais in Paris was recently transformed into a Parisian train station.

Not only is it Virginie Viard’s debut as Chanel’s Artistic Director, but also the first collection since the passing of the Karl Lagerfeld. Virginie continues the story of Chanel and travel by delivering her own fresh vision, following in the tradition of Gabrielle Chanel and Karl Lagerfeld.

The makeup look, created by Chanel’s Global Creative Makeup and Colour Designer, Lucia Pica, was minimalist but with a bold, shiny, black cherry lip.

Commenting on the overall look, Lucia Pica said: “I noticed that in Virginie’s collection there was an element of black going through: whether it be a ribbon, or pants, even the coloured looks, that is why I added a black mouth. You will see that about twenty girls have this black shiny cherry lip. I kept this lacquered black lip on only a few models as an element of surprise and also because it went with some of the girls character’s and outfits. I think this is what makeup is about, it’s an accessory to help express and enhance yourself.”